Get smitten with children: Volunteer as a teacher

It is Saturday and it’s seven-thirty in the morning, I was awoken by my alarm clock. I am still craving for more sleep but I have to arrive early in San Francisco Elementary School in Quezon City so I ate my breakfast and took a bath. Off I go to school. This time, I am not in class to be taught but I am the one who is to teach.

It all started when my facilitator in CFC- Singles for Christ invited me to join them in volunteering as a teacher. We are to teach children who are slow learners between the age of 7 and 17. We teach them how to read, understand and pronounce the words correctly. We also teach them how to pray and the good manners and right conduct. I am appalled for the reason that we still have a student who is 17 years of age and still doesn’t know how to read. I also felt sad regarding the facilities used by public schools as well as the scarcity of resources like books and notebooks. I hope one day our government officials in the Philippines would realize what we mostly needed. Instead of taking care of their pockets, they should think about the futures of these children first.

The picture is c/o my friend Rea

Tutees + Volunteered teachers

Being a teacher is never easy. You have to be patient, kind and understanding with the children especially when some of them are very noisy, naughty and wild. They keep on walking out of the room while someone is discussing and they keep on talking. They are not very attentive and that is the big challenge. You need to think of something to make them listen and to make them be focus to you. Unfortunately, I don’t possess the characteristics of a teacher but through this volunteering I tried learning how to be patient with them. I have experienced being a teacher for just a few months but through those months I’ve learned not only from those children but also to some of my colleagues who were also volunteers. They taught me how to be compassionate and be creative. And most especially, they helped me develop my confidence and give importance to the children especially those who are in need of attention.

From the faces of those children, I see myself in them. Their eagerness to learn and to participate in different activities. I just feel sad that their parents didn’t encourage them to study hard for a better future. I feel lucky that my parents strive hard for my education and convinced me to study hard and aim high.

2 comments on “Get smitten with children: Volunteer as a teacher

Feel free to impart your thoughts

